Serenity 

I saw a feather drop from the sky today!

I was sitting here thanking the Lord for all He has done in my life. I was thanking Him for my son being able to come and help me for the last couple of months. With all the changes in my world, Charles being here to help, has been an extraordinary blessing! I was also thankful that my son was able to see, and stay, at my favorite place to camp, Empire Ranch!

I’m getting ready to move and I will miss this place, as I always do, but the good Lord has provided other places for me to park. Each of them have their own separate beauty, and special reasons why they are good for me.  I have reasons to look forward to each one.  But there is something special about this place. A serenity. A peaceful, calming, beauty, that always touches my soul.

A seldom used path, that starts at my door, meandering through fields of vividly green grass, and wanders off into the distance.

I was sitting here just being thankful and quiet for a moment, while taking a break from packing, and I saw this little shadow right outside my door. I thought it must be a butterfly the way that it floated and fluttered a little. Then when I finally saw exactly  what it was, it turned out to be a feather, that landed right in front of my door, pointing off to the distance. It is now a part of my little creation of lovely things I have found, or been given, since I’ve been on the road these past three years.

It is the monsoon season here, so there have been rain storms almost everyday. Cooling rains.  Thunderstorms, that live up to the name.  Thunder that cracks, rolls, rumbles, and echos, on and on.  Lighting that sears the sky. It’s often like watching a tree of light grow in an instant! Lighting that illuminates the entire valley.  We even had another hailstorm a couple days ago!  The grass has grown so high and the trees are full of leaves.  The sky is graduating shades of blues so intense and clear that you could gaze at it all day long.  I never tire of the grandeur.

The breeze has been so gentle today, that the grass is barely shifting back and forth, almost looking like the waves in the water. 

Wherever you turn, there is more to appeal to the eye, to the soul.

Bits of white clouds in the sky, are mirrored, by bits of white beauty in the grass.

Sassy, my beautiful new van, and Little Gypsy, my Shepherds hut.  This is my home, looking quite at home, here at the ranch.

This has been a wonderful respite. I will hold the joy and peace, the calming serenity, that I find in this place, deeply within my soul.

Farewell for now, Empire Ranch.

6 thoughts on “Serenity 

    • Thanks Shawna! The Ranch is special to me in so many ways. The next spot has horses next door, that stop by to say hello over the fence! I use to have horses, still miss them, and this spot gives me the fun of scratching horsey necks! 🙂

  1. Those are beautiful pictures you shared. I agree that place looks very peaceful and serene. Your van looks lovely too. We’re happy for you Rachel. Thanks for sharing. We’re still planning to come South this year if we can get the funds for medical insurance. It just keeps getting more expensive all the time. This is our last year to work at the R.V. Park here in Valemount so it may be our last time to be able to travel South. I appreciate you keeping in touch. Glad that Charles has been able to be with you.

    Blessings and love,
    Shirley

  2. I feel the same way about my place in Alaska. As I prepare myself mentally for the day I have to leave I wonder if I will make it back. The trees are turning and the wind is growing cold so I know the time has come. The river with the sound of rushing WATER and wakeing up to the gorgous mountains is something I can’t get enough of. I seem to never tire of the view I now live with.I love this place that has become my home. I will miss it. I have not once missed the house I left behind.hugs to you my friend.

    • Hi Linda! The sound of rushing WATERS! Now that is something I do miss! We do get rushing WATERS here too, but you usually don’t want to be close enough to hear them. I’ve had to traverse several of our, ahem, intermittent streams, and it can be kind of wild! No worries about that up at the Ranch though. I will get to spend a few more days there later this winter, then my time will be used up for the year. Waking up to the incredible views here, like you, I could never get enough! Balm for the soul! I’ll be praying you do get to go back again, and that you find other places to stay that are filled with the good Lord’s beauty!

Leave a Reply

