Things that interest me? 

A dear friend, and fellow camper, asked recently, what I was seeing along the way, that interested me.  They were not concerned so much about where I was, but what it was, that I saw, that interested me. He claims he had no interest in my flat washer collection, though I do have one, that I am fairly certain had an unfortunate meeting with a bulldozer at one time. 😉 

I had wanted to send this privately, but it seems that I don’t have that ability on this little tablet. I cannot afford to turn on my computer, at this time, for a variety of reasons, so everyone gets to see, a little, of the nonsense of me!

When I realized it was going to be an actual post, I found myself adding some of my thoughts with you as well, gentle reader. Little odds and ends about this crazy life of mine out here on the road.

Things that interest me 🙂

Being there at just the right time, for when a leaf falls down from a tree. 

Looking for four leaf clovers in a patch of the tiniest little Clover leaves I’ve ever seen.  Nothing like exercise, not even very difficult, just glancing down at your feet and seeing a little patch of clover.  Then looking to see if there’s one that has four leaves. 

Astronomy, anything to do with the heavens is always fascinating to me. Not astrological signs, and are you a Pisces, but the heavens and how they work. Mysterious and glorious Grandeur, that do indeed declare His name!  We are here! In the solar eclipse zone! Charlie is hoping to get pictures.  We both have our $2 sun viewing glasses, one of which, he is using to make a poor mans lense for his camera. Exciting!

This is a borrowed picture, but isn’t it beautiful! 🙂

Fascinating pictures of what they are calling the Eye of God, found by the NASA Hubble Telescope a while back.

Obviously this is not a picture I took either, I borrowed this from that favorite site called Google

Daisies! Of every color and variety. Though I must admit these simple, beautiful, white daisies, with that golden sun in the center, are my favorites!

We are right next to the boat launch. Watching people as they get their boats into and out of the water is fascinating. There were a couple of squeakers! One gentleman tried to put his boat in the truck, instead of on the trailer, as they came back up out of the water. Oh my! But mostly I was in admiration of some of the men who came out here with their boats.  One young man was very excited.  You could practically see excitement rippling out of his body as he double-checked everything at least three times. Then, when his boat finally dropped into the water, you could see his hand grab for the rope, and then realized, yes, it was okay, he did have it tied to the back of the truck. Then he got it off to the side, went and parked his truck and got in his boat. When he headed out into the bay, he had this huge grin on his face. There was another man later, an older gentleman, who had obviously been doing this for years. Pull up, move this, click that, back the boat into the water, release it, get it off to the side, park his truck.  This whole time, he was just doing his thing, no great excitement, no big smiles, just doing what needed to get done, until he actually got in the boat and started to head out towards the bay. You could almost see his body relax, and the smile he had, was a gentle smile of deep satisfaction. Quiet joy, in being on the water again, came across his face.

Being right next to the water, hearing the sound of the waves lapping up against the stones.  Having a breeze that comes across the water ruffle my hair.

Watching the sun light up the waves with bright, pinpoints of light. Like diamonds, hidden in the water. 

Time spent laughing with Charles, over the nonsense of this life. Silly things, fun things, or unusual things, like this. We found this, in a parking lot, and even though we were both exhausted, and it was the middle of the night, at a truck stop in Virginia, we took a few minutes to laugh together.

Photo by Charles L A Smith

Charlie got this picture.  I guess wherever they going, they wanted to be sure, they could get some place else, in a great big hurry! Talk about bringing a ‘run around for errands’ vehicle with you! I still chuckle when I think about that one.

To walk in the water, not on the water like the good Lord, just be in the water. No. Actually I love being near the water, or on the water in my little boat, or just my feet in the water. In the water my whole self? With all the little fishies sharing the water? Maybe that’s not so much my favorite thing, though it felt wonderful to get in the water and soak when we first got here. The lake was so warm, that it was like I was taking a bath. You would have laughed to see me out there. I took my chair out, set it down deep in the water, plunked myself down, and splashed and played like a child!

 Sailing here, in this beautiful place, is on the agenda, after we get through this weekend. They are a lot of people here, to watch the eclipse, and I am somewhat overwhelmed, but the fact that I am here, helps. It is indeed, a beautiful place here by the water. It is hard to believe that I am heading back to Arizona, and leaving this land of Many Waters, but there is water in Arizona too, and a place to sail my boat. But the continued exposure to mold that we are experiencing here will be greatly reduced in Arizona. I’m praying the changes I’ve made in my little world will work, then I will have a place to spend the winter, and that is a good thing.

 Looking out my window and only seeing the water, because I’m so close to it, I can’t even see the ground. It almost makes me feel like I’m in a tiny little ship, and the front of my Little Gypsy is a great prow, taking me sailing to far away places!

Of course, my eyes can ignore the screen and see only the water. The camera sees life in a much more realistic fashion, but I prefer the way the good Lord made us. To be able to see past those barriers, that are in our way, to see past, even the past mistakes and heartaches, and look out to the Horizon and find beauty.

The satisfaction of looking at your camp, and knowing you are fully deployed! I’m not sure what it is, but there’s a great feeling when you get some place, any place, you get everything out, you’re set up, and know, that you have two full weeks at another location.

See? My little trailer does indeed look like she has a bow, and she could very well be a ship at sea! As my fellow camper will attest, that is one of the first things I noticed about her! 

Macha!  Lol! She is a continuing source of joy and amusement. There was some little creature down in that crack. She was bound and determined to wait there until it came out. She even laid down, with her nose stuck down in there, so she wouldn’t miss it. Dippy dog!

An old rope swing, still hanging from the tree at my campsite.  

Oh, the temptation!

The butterfly that landed on my shoulder.  

Charlie making friends.

Speaking of horses,

There was a Pegasus statue. A Pegasus in full flight, but the difference with this one, is it was up on a narrow pedestal that was probably 50 or 100 ft high in the air. It’s not far from here. Pegasus Barn? Pegasus Farm? Something like that. I would love to meet the person, who came up with that concept. One hind foot on that long narrow pedestal and the rest of them pawing, in free air. Wings spread, and ready for flight.  They understood that Pegasus is not a creature that is bound by this Earth. In a way, as Christians, we too, are creatures that are not bound by this Earth. We have a Heavenly home. I would love to meet who ever it was, and talk with them about that concept. I wish I could have gotten a picture of that. But, reality intruded. I was driving a van that was overheating, and we were trying to get to the campgrounds, before the sun got too hot for it to handle. So there was a short sigh of frustration, for my limitations, but mostly the rest of that drive, was a time of admiration, for someone who truly understood my view of Pegasus. Pegasus is a creature that could only be ridden by the Greek gods of Mythology. In fact, when a human tried to ride so high towards the Sun, that he could be with the Greek gods, Pegasus threw him off his back and he fell back to the world, while Pegasus went on to bring forth the dawn. Now, in reality, I have no wings, but I have an imagination, capable of incredible Flights of Fancy.  As a child, I would often envision myself on the back of a great winged horse, flying so high in the sky. It was either that, or a giant butterfly! But that’s another story. 

Pegasus, an unbridled creature, bound by the gods, seeking the Sun.

 As I am, a Child of free will, bound to my Lord, seeking The Son!

Leave a Reply

